Quote

Kurt Vonnegut on the Semicolon

Here is a lesson in creative writing. First rule: Do not use semicolons. They are transvestite hermaphrodites representing absolutely nothing. All they do is show you’ve been to college.

-Kurt Vonnegut
(quoted from Wikipedia)

I hope that this quote made you laugh as hard as I did. 

DISCLAIMER: I don't have anything against transvestites, hermaphrodites, transvestite hermaphrodites, and semicolons. 

The last line--in opposition to representing absolutely nothing--seemed like a strong punch line.
2 thoughts on “Kurt Vonnegut on the Semicolon

  1. This is the best thing I’ve heard all day. As a writer and someone with a literary blog, I love Vonnegut, and I think this is such a hilarious way to view the semicolon, whether in jest or not. Great post, thanks for making my day. (;)

What do you think? Your comments are greatly appreciated.

